You are here: Home/Latest News/SLMMS Elects 2023 Officers, Councilors and Delegates

SLMMS Elects 2023 Officers, Councilors and Delegates

M. Laurin Council, MD

M. Laurin Council, MD, MBA, a dermatologist and dermatologic surgeon, has been elected 2023 president of the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society.

Other 2023 officers elected include Kirsten F. Dunn, MD, as president-elect; Richard H. Wieder, MD, as vice president; and Robert A. Brennan, Jr., MD, as secretary-treasurer. Erin S. Gardner, MD, is the immediate past president.

Elected to three-year terms as councilors are: Richard A. Covert, MD, MPH; Dee Anna Glaser, MD; George Mansour, MD; and Sriram Vissa, MD.

In addition, two SLMMS members have been appointed to complete the unexpired terms of Dr. Faisal Khan and Dr. Kathleen Nemer, who resigned their Councilor posts due relocation. At the December meeting, the Council approved the appointments of Rishi Sud, MD, MBA, and Mark Pelikan, DO, to complete the final two years (2023-2024) left on each of the unexpired terms.

22 SLMMS members were elected to two-year terms (2023-2024) to serve as Third District Delegates to the Missouri State Medical Association. They include: George M. Bohigian, MD; Samer W. Cabbabe, MD; J. Collins Corder, MD; Jonathan Dehner, MD; Norman S. Druck, MD; Kirsten F. Dunn, MD; Erin S. Gardner, MD; Richard J. Gimpelson, MD; Luis A. Giuffra, MD; Scott H. Hardeman, MD; Sara Hawatmeh, MD; Jay L. Meyer, MD; Raymond F. Mohrman, MD; Nathaniel H. Murdock, MD; Otha Myles, MD; David M. Niebruegge, MD; Farheen N.K. Raja, MD; Jo-Ellyn M. Ryall, MD; Pearl Serota, MD; Jason K. Skyles, MD; Stephen R. Smith; and Alan P. K. Wild, MD.

Dr. Council is a professor of dermatology at Washington University School of Medicine. She also is director of dermatologic surgery at the school as well as director of the micrographic surgery and dermatologic oncology fellowship. She earned her medical degree from Washington University in 2004 and in 2022 obtained her executive MBA from the university. Her undergraduate degree is from Louisiana State University.

From 2010-2012, she completed a fellowship in Mohs, cosmetic and laser surgery at Saint Louis University. At Washington University, she completed her residency in dermatology from 2007-2010 and a research fellowship in melanoma from 2005-2007. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Dermatology and the American College of Mohs Surgery.

In professional organizations, Dr. Council is a member of the board of directors of the American College of Mohs Surgery and just completed terms on the boards of directors of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and the Women’s Dermatologic Society. She is the current president of the St. Louis Dermatologic Society.

In the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society, Dr. Council has served as president-elect in 2022 and as a councilor in 2020 and 2021. She is vice speaker of the Missouri State Medical Association.

The St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society, representing physicians in St. Louis city and county, works to advance strong patient-physician relationships and quality health care through advocacy, communication and education. Founded in 1836, the Medical Society is affiliated with the Missouri State Medical Association and the American Medical Association. The society website is

#   #   #


Contact SLMMS

If you have a question or comment about the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society
contact us online or call: 314-786-5473

St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society
1023 Executive Parkway, Suite 16
Creve Coeur, MO 63141
Phone 314-786-5473

Thanks to Our Sponsors

Scroll to Top