You are here: Home/Latest News/SLMMS Installs Officers and Presents Awards at 38th Annual Meeting

SLMMS Installs Officers and Presents Awards at 38th Annual Meeting

The St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society installed officers, presented three awards, and recognized members who have been with the organization for 50 years or more at their 38th annual meeting and installation banquet on Saturday, January 10, 2015, at Kemoll’s Top of the Met.

Dr. Michael J. Stadnyk, a radiologist with Diagnostic Imaging Associates at St. Luke’s Hospital, was installed as the 2015 SLMMS President. A SLMMS member since 2006, Dr. Stadnyk was elected to the SLMMS Council in 2009, and has served the last two years as Vice President and then President-Elect.

Also installed were officers elected by the membership in November to serve for the coming year: Dr. Samer Cabbabe (President-Elect); Dr. J. Collins Corder (Vice President); and Dr. David Butler (Secretary-Treasurer).

Four physicians beginning three year terms that run through 2017 on the SLMMS Council include Dr. David Bean, Dr. Robert A. Brennan, Jr., Dr. JoAnne Lacey, and Dr. Andrea Sample.

Dr. Nathaniel Murdock received the Robert E. Schlueter Leadership Award in recognition of his contributions to the St. Louis medical community. Dr. Murdock became only the 19th recipient of this prestigious career award, which was presented for the first time since 2010.

Dr. George Hruza, a Chesterfield dermatologist and Mohs surgeon, received the 2014 Presidents Award in recognition of his work advocating for fellow physicians and patients when insurance companies narrowed their networks and terminated physicians without cause in 2014.

Dr. Stuart Slavin, Associate Dean for Curriculum and Professor of Pediatrics at Saint Louis University School of Medicine, received the Arthur Gale Writer’s Award for 2014 for his article “Reducing Stress and Finding Positive Meaning in Medical Practice” contributed to St. Louis Metropolitan Medicine magazine.

SLMMS began a new tradition of recognizing its 50-year members, including ten members who joined in 1964, as well as more than 100 members who joined between 1943 and 1963.  Six of these physicians were in attendance: Dr. Arthur Gale (50 years); Dr. John S. Meyer (50 years); Dr. Edward Wittgen (51 years); Dr. Mary A.T. Tillman (52 years); Dr. Robert F. Owen (56 years); and Dr. Edith Trugley (57 years).

Dr. Jeffrey Copeland, President of the Missouri State Medical Association, presided over the installation of officers and councilors. Outgoing 2014 SLMMS President Dr. Joseph A. Craft III presented the SLMMS special awards and member recognition.


Contact SLMMS

If you have a question or comment about the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society
contact us online or call: 314-786-5473

St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society
1023 Executive Parkway, Suite 16
Creve Coeur, MO 63141
Phone 314-786-5473

Thanks to Our Sponsors

Scroll to Top